Modules - Loading in WebIDE and Testing

Posted on
Page
of 2
/ 2
Next
  • Hi All

I've written a Date and Clock module. The Date module uses the same API as JS Date (but doesn't implement everything at all), and Clock inherits from it. (It's all a bit rough so want to polish a bit more before sharing :)

I'm a bit of a newbie at JS, so have a few questions...

1. Should these be two modules or one? I guess two... any reason why not?

2. Is there any way to get WebIDE to pull modules from either a) my PC or b) multiple locations? Can it pull them direct from my github account?

3. These aren't device modules - where would I put them in github?

4. Is there any convention for unit tests for Espurino modules?

Thanks

Martin

• One way to get a module into the espruino is to put it on a micro SD card in in node_modules directory, then load it from within the Espruino. You need to put the require command in left hand side, or on the right, you need to confuse the IDE like so:

var d="DHT22dev"
    var dht=require(d).connect(B0)

(if you do require() with a string that the IDE can't find on the website, it'll refuse to send it at the moment....)

other way is to do:

modules.addCached("modulename","module source code goes here");

I think a way to set a local directory to look for modules in is planned

• 1) 2 modules is probably better... I don't see any real reason why not - people may just want Date and not clock, and then they won't want the extra memory used up...

2) You should be able to do:

var x  =require("http://foo/bar.js");

If you have a webserver on your PC, you should be able to load from localhost... @JumJum's made a 'project' extension for the Web IDE that allows local files, but I've yet to integrate it properly I'm afraid.

3) I'd try https://github.com/espruino/EspruinoDocs­/tree/master/modules