DrAzzy

Member since Feb 2014 • Last active Jul 2019

I'm Spence Konde aka Dr. Azzy

I live and work in the People's Republic of Cambridge, near Boston, MA. I test the web gateway and web development framework for a database software firm for my day job, and sell PCBs and do electronics stuff on the side. I also own pinball machines, with all the maintenance that entails, and have made modifications to them as well.

In addition to Espruino, I do a lot of work with the Arduino platform and maintain a core that supports almost all ATTiny microcontrollers for the Arduino IDE.

I'm not a real doctor (I'd be happy to write you a prescription - but it'll be on the back of a cocktail napkin, and it'll be for a cocktail);

In a past life when I played Ragnarok Online, I wrote the AzzyAI homunculus and mercenary AI, which was used by thousands of players worldwide (ie, I'm that Azzy)

Most recent activity

• in ESP8266

Looks like a straightforward I2C device, creating a module for it shouldn't be particularly hard.

• in ESP8266

use response.writeHead() and write out the CORS header that way.

I do it in this code - https://github.com/SpenceKonde/AzzyProje­cts/blob/master/Animate/Version9.js

• in ESP32

My experience was that the ESP8266 (the one I do a lot of LED control with) was that this was very slow indeed. That's why I have only 10 pingpong lights on each of my strings....

I would very much like to see some speed optimizations for the ESP8266 and ESP32 boards - they are... painfully slow.

• in ESP8266

I found that I had to wait a few seconds after startup to do the createServer() call - try putting that in a 5 second timeout.

• in JavaScript

I know I used to know how to do this, but I've been in Arduino land a lot lately, and now this is puzzling me... I am sure there's a right way.

I have serial data coming in. Each message will consist of a number of characters terminated with a newline.