DrAzzy

Member since Feb 2014 • Last active Dec 2018

I'm Spence Konde aka Dr. Azzy

I live and work in the People's Republic of Cambridge, near Boston, MA. I test the web gateway and web development framework for a database software firm for my day job, and sell PCBs and do electronics stuff on the side. I also own pinball machines, with all the maintenance that entails, and have made modifications to them as well.

In addition to Espruino, I do a lot of work with the Arduino platform and maintain a core that supports almost all ATTiny microcontrollers for the Arduino IDE.

I'm not a real doctor (I'd be happy to write you a prescription - but it'll be on the back of a cocktail napkin, and it'll be for a cocktail);

In a past life when I played Ragnarok Online, I wrote the AzzyAI homunculus and mercenary AI, which was used by thousands of players worldwide (ie, I'm that Azzy)

Most recent activity

• in ESP32

Couple of things - pulse reset low after power on but before trying to communicate with it. Depending on the power up sequence, it can go into a low power shutdown mode in which it doesn't respond to UART on startup.

Make sure you have TX and RX wired correctly. TX of one device goes to RX of the other device.

• in Projects

McMaster Carr (mcmaster.com) might have something that will do the trick?

They're the digikey of mechanical stuff.

• in Projects

So what if all the good stuff is SMD? These boards have SOIC and (T)SSOP outline, and stack with my 2x4 SMD protoboards for even more part options! Someone needs to drill into people's heads that SMD soldering really isn't hard! I'd pick soldering a SOIC package over a DIP one any day, even working by hand... but most hobbyists act like SMD soldering is kryptonite.

• in Projects

Heh - well Gordon, there's your answer about demand for protoboard-integrated development boards. Can't even give the damned things away.

People are weird , they just don't recognize value nowadays.

• in General