DrAzzy

Member since Feb 2014 • Last active Aug 2018

I'm Spence Konde aka Dr. Azzy

I live and work in the People's Republic of Cambridge, near Boston, MA. I test the web gateway and web development framework for a database software firm for my day job, and sell PCBs and do electronics stuff on the side. I also own pinball machines, with all the maintenance that entails, and have made modifications to them as well.

In addition to Espruino, I do a lot of work with the Arduino platform and maintain a core that supports almost all ATTiny microcontrollers for the Arduino IDE.

I'm not a real doctor (I'd be happy to write you a prescription - but it'll be on the back of a cocktail napkin, and it'll be for a cocktail);

In a past life when I played Ragnarok Online, I wrote the AzzyAI homunculus and mercenary AI, which was used by thousands of players worldwide (ie, I'm that Azzy)

Most recent activity

• in ESP8266

The "undefined" looks normal, as you're printing to the console the result of wifi.ping() which doesn't return anything.

The memory hemorrhage, though... 85 jsvars per iteration!

• in ESP8266

Is the HC-SR04 code even known working on ESP8266? Because of how it has to keep yielding to do the radio stuff, timing-critical things can be problematic....

• in ESP8266

You would need to involve an external server that sees what IP is sending the request and echos it back - the devices behind a router do not know what their external IP address is (be they computers, embedded devices, or whatever).

• in Other Boards

@Gordon - it might make sense to put a note of that in the IDE settings screen "9600 is used by all boards except ESP8266 and ESP32, which use 115200"

I find the switch annoying enough that I never connect to ESP8266 and ESP32 by the IDE - I just go in with hterm, set up the wifi, then connect by telnet.

• 33 comments
  • in Interfacing