What am I doing wrong?

Posted on
  • I am fairly new to Javascript and am trying to understand why I am having an issue displaying gps data on a PCD8544. If I comment out the GPS code the display will characters. When the GPS code is included the LCD screen does not display any characters. I tried converting the lat1 variable from number to string but that did not work. WHat am I doing wrong?

A2.write(0); // GND
    A4.write(1); // VCC
    SPI1.setup({ baud: 2000000, sck:A5, mosi:A7 });

var g;

function onInit() {
      g = require("PCD8544").connect(SPI1,A6,B0,B1­, function() {
        g.clear();
        g.drawString("Hello",0,0);
        g.drawLine(0,10,84,10);
        g.flip();
      });

}

onInit();

Serial4.setup(57600,{tx:C10,rx:C11});
    var gps = require("GPS").connect(Serial4, function(data) {
      lat1 = data.lat;
      g.clear();
      g.drawString(lat1,0 ,0);
      g.flip();
      });

• It might be that you're sending data to the lcd before it is initialised?

Maybe try adding if (!inited) return to the gps code, and an inited=true in the connect callback?

• What happens when you run it interactively? Are you able to get any data out of the GPS? Are you able to control the LCD manually?

I figure the callback must be running, otherwise it would leave the "LCD OK" on the screen.... My suspicion is that it's not getting data - possibly it's getting no data, but that's being translated into an empty string?

The GPS module states that it's for interfacing with GPS devices that support the NMEA standard/protocol/whateveryoucallit - Per the NMEA description( http://www.gpsinformation.org/dale/nmea.­htm#hardware ), that means 4800 baud, maybe higher on some units. 57600 is 12 times faster than this. Is there a reason that you picked that?

Also, are you running this by sending from the IDE, or are you save()ing? If you want that to work after using save(), you need to put the connect() call for the GPS into onInit() as well.