When is assembly necessary?

Posted on
  • This page http://www.espruino.com/Compilation says that there are moments when you would want your code to run faster than normal speeds you get from source code, I'm curious if anybody has ever genuinely been in that situation (I'm just a beginner and don't know any situations that would call for a microcontroller to transmit over 5KHtz unless you were trying to drive a motor or something)?

• #assembly #assembler #performance

Espruino Javascript is great for high-level things, but when it comes down to move byte by byte - and even worse - bit by bit - around, then the system is more busy with running all the niceties of the environment then actually doing the work. I see the hybrid approach the best... and that is genuinely taken by Espruino. Things that have to go fast are low-level implemented with an easy access interface on the Javascript (interpretative) level.

When I did graphics, such as retrieving bytes to store them away to later restore them, assembler / native is the answer... (not just because I was accessing the bytes SPI, but also the number of bytes: n bytes per pixel.

Regarding your 5KHz transmission thing... what kind of code would be in that loop of 5KHz?... because already an empty loop is slower... (see about performance). When @JumJum and I did meddle around with ILI9341 driven 320x240 262K Color LCD, speed became of essence... Even when I used it for driving a Stepper Motor in continuous mode, I touched the limit. Others have tried to work with cheap RF / wireless, and it is just not enough juice in the setup... except low level things move into native...