20x4 LCD Module Question

Posted on
  • Long story short, I bought this LCD board: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003B22­UR0/ref=oh_details_o01_s00_i01?ie=UTF8&p­sc=1
    which has an I2C adapter on back and at least looks similar to the HD44780, but when I try to connect it to the Espruino and use the following code:

I2C1.setup({scl:B6, sda:B7});
    var lcd = require("HD44780").connectI2C(I2C1);
    lcd.print("Hello World!");

I wind up with this output in the console:

1v55 Copyright 2014 G.Williams
    >echo(0);
    INTERNAL ERROR: Timeout on I2C Write Transmit Mode 2
    INTERNAL ERROR: Timeout on I2C Write Transmit
    at line 2 col 21
    d,d,e,e,e|4,e|4,e,e])}
                         ^
    in function "a" called from line 1 col 8
    in function "f" called from line 2 col 23
    in function "connectI2C" called from line 1 col 45
    ERROR: Using '.' operator on non-object at line 1 col 4
    lcd.print("Hello World!");
        ^
    =undefined

As I am still new to using this stuff, what is wrong is not clear. I tried connecting 10K resistors on the SDA and SCL pins, (which are connected to B7 and B6 respectively) but this has not changed anything. Anyone know what I'm doing wrong?

• Just a thought, but could it be that the problem is due to trying to run the 5V LCD off of a 3.3V pin?

• Yes, it could be a voltage thing... Also, have you connected one resistor from 3.3v to SDA and the other from 3.3v to SCL? Also are you sure SDA and SCL are the right way around?

Those I2C errors are because it can't find the I2C device on the bus, so it probably is a relatively simple problem...

Can you let us know what's written on the black IC on your board (the one nearest the I2C connections)? Just so we know it's the same one that Espruino is expecting :)

• Sorry, haven't checked this in a while.