[SOLVED] Cannot pair Bangle.js 2 with Gadgetbridge

Posted on
  • I recently started playing with my new Bangle.js 2. When attempting to pair the watch in the Gadgetbridge app, I get this toast: Bonding with %1$s failed immediately after the phone attempts to pair for 10 seconds or so.

I made sure that all the permissions are granted to Gadgetbridge.

I tested with these versions of the Gadgetbridge app:

1. Bangle.js Gadgetbridge on F-Droid
    2. Gadgetbridge on F-Driod
    3. Bangle.js Gadgetbridge on Aurora Store
    4. Bangle.js Gadgetbridge on Google Play Store

I made sure to update all apps on the Bangle.js 2 and used the "Install Default Apps" option on the App Loader multiple times (followed by installing the Android integration).

I restarted my phone between tests.

I made sure I was far away from other Bluetooth devices when trying to connect.

I run GrapheneOS, so I also tested with the "Exploit protection compatibility mode" setting enabled.

Phone:
    Google Pixel 7
    Android 14 (GrapheneOS 21)

I might be able to test with a stock Pixel 6a in a few days as well.

Gadgetbridge debug log attached.

1 Attachment

• Hi - this could well be a GrapheneOS thing as Bangle.js should 'just work'.

One thing you could try is on the Bangle, enable Passkey in Settings -> Bluetooth.

It might be GrapheneOS adds a restriction that it won't bond to a device unless that device has a passkey, as maybe it thinks it can't be trusted if it doesn't.

• I should add though that you don't have to bond - so when Gadgetbridge asks you if you want to you can always answer No.

In that case the connection to the Bangle won't be encrypted, but honestly the chance of someone deciding to sniff Bluetooth traffic to get the contents of your notifications for most people is pretty slim.

• No dice, unfortunately.