You are reading a single comment by @charlie and its replies. Click here to read the full conversation.
  • I didn't know the best forum to post this - so feel free move it if a better place.

Short background. I am a full time programmer. For the last 2/3 years I have been leading a team using ReactJs (modern javascript framework) with Typescipt to build large scale multi platform apps.

I have spent the last 4 months as a fulltime parent and have been looking for some projects to do around that. I have worked with dev boards like the esp32 with both Arduino and more recently Micropython for a long time so although I don't do this type of development for a living I am very familiar with it.

I bought the bangle 2 watch a few weeks ago. The Javascript programming framework looked interesting. I liked the idea of open source software I can improve - mostly around improving the existing apps for hiking and navigation.

I have some comments around the dev framework which may well be ignorance, any criticism is meant as constructive rather than an attack on the framework and community. Any help or feedback would be grateful.

One of the starting points is the documentation. I am finding navigating the documentation confusing, often getting circular links from one page to another. Some of the questions below may be answered in the documentation but I haven't been able to find it (it also doesn't help when a small baby keeps interrupting)

1. Its not clear to me which version of Javascript espruino is supporting. es5, es6 .. etc? Or some cut down version supporting some of the functionality of one of these (as with micropython). I would be planning to use typescript and smaller single files of typescript in an offline ide, which could be built down to a single or multiple javascript files, if the compiler is custom javascript the use of typescript is limited.