Robin

Member since Jan 2017 • Last active May 2017
  • 7 conversations
  • 79 comments

Most recent activity

• in Pico / Wifi / Original Espruino

Mon 2017.05.15

"It'll be my first IoT board purchase, i'm new to all that."

It is good that you are asking the right questions and I'm sure you will be excited making the correct IoT choice. Supporting @Gordon with an Espruino brand IoT board purchase would be appreciated.

"and could operate on something for months on a 2000mAh cell"

You are correct @Thinkscape under certain conditions. I believe it was @Gordon that covered this in a post I am still trying to locate. I'll do my best to summarize until that link is found.

The idea is to run the device on a 1% duty cycle running at the 20ua drain 99% of the time. These devices consume around 50ma to wake up, 100ma at impulse for mild number crunching, 200ma during warp drive, and up to 500+ma using WiFi etc. The GPIO pins can source around 25ma but the total chip source is only around 100ma for all IO out meaning around five LEDs at 20ma each. As one can see, during excessive WiFi use, an external (wall-wort) power source is recommended to save on battery draw.

Still seeking that link,
    Robin

ESP8266 - NodeMCU - led and ds1820 temperature example

espruino.com/Wireless+Tempera­ture+Sensor

espruino.com/Tutorials

EDIT Mon 2017.05.15

Still searching for that post but did find the following:

@allObjects posted the chip GPIO data:

'maximum current from the espruino pins'
    http://forum.espruino.com/conversations/­280779/#comment12746768

See p.59:
    espruino.com/datasheets/STM32­F401xD.pdf

• Each GPIO pin can source or sink only 25ma
    • Total max all pins is 120ma

• in Electronics

Does this provide some insight:
    "Example code for the "Chirp" soil moisture sensor"

http://forum.espruino.com/conversations/­270246/#comment13634478

espruino.com/simple_data_logg­er

espruino.com/Tutorials

• in Puck.js