Github Merge Conflict

Posted on
  • I'm new to Github and not really sure what I'm doing. I'd hoped to make a couple of tweaks to the app that I'm developing tonight, but when I got to Github and attempted to do my usual "fetch upstream" to keep things up to date, it told me there was a conflict.

I've poked around and tried to figure out what the problem was. I got to a point where I appear to need to download git and start using command-line instructions(!), which seems ridiculous as I've been using the GitHub web interface exclusively so far.

My repo is at https://github.com/andrewgoz/BangleApps

I suspect the problem is another app got added to the main apps.json, and that change conflicts with my addition. I've tried to manually edit my apps.json, but the conflict remains.

I don't know what to do. Any advice would be appreciated.

• I'm not sure I can actually see the conflict as I'm not logged in. Do you think you could post a screenshot of the page?

Usually if someone commits something where there's a conflict I get to press a 'resolve conflict' button and worst case I see something like:

>>>>>
    something here
    =======
    something else
    <<<<<

And I have to delete the >>>>>>/========/<<<<<<<< and then figure out what should go in the middle based on the two conflicting items, then click the 'mark as resolved' button.

In your case if someone added something new you probably want both bits in there, you just need to make sure that the brackets match.

I imagine there are a whole bunch of tutorials on YouTube that'd explain it a lot better than I'm doing though

• This is what I'm seeing:

https://imgur.com/a/g2kBPrR

The first image is my repo landing page and to date I've been clicking the "Fetch upstream" button. It normally "just works", but now it's showing "Open pull request" as shown.