cappy

Member since Feb 2015 • Last active Aug 2016
  • 4 conversations
  • 10 comments

I am an old bastard-69 but have always loved electronics since I was a kid. The engineer has always been in me; but, I have never had much math talent so I have been relegated to the verbal subjects. Because I have ADD & am dyslexic-it can, at times, hamper my progress in attaining goals I'm interested in. And one of the things about ADD-it gives me a burning desire to know about EVERYTHING.
So what happens-jack of all trades-master of none. I have been a NYSE stock broker, deck hand on commercial coastal vessels, sailing teacher, went to Law school when I was 42 & practiced law for 5 years in Maine. Too honest to make much money, and so I went back to electronic where I have been a tech for over 30 years. The only trouble with electronics as a way of making a living is that it is boom or bust. Companies-Wang,DEC, Lucent (10 years) HP Medical products . Here one day-gone tomorrow! But the Maker Movement is fascinating and will herald a change in the way we do things. I never thought humans would ever become cyborgs; but it's happening before our eyes!

Most recent activity

• in News

What you mean is
    YOUR life has moved to the Cloud. Embedded projects have NOT per se moved to the Cloud.

• in News

As I had mentioned when I first joined this forum-I come-more or less-from the hardware side of things-especially embedded. What I am finally seeing is the marriage of software on the embedded or microcontroller side along with the software of the PC-mostly but not all(in the multiple browsers or IDE's on a PC that talks an interpreter aboard the small embedded board(Espruino/Tessel. The following article (especially the end where the Espruino is talked about a lot and points where we are evolving to really fast! Extreme fascinating information for those so inclined!

https://medium.com/@slsoftworks/javascri­pt-world-domination-af9ca2ee5070

• in General