bluecamel

Member since Sep 2013 • Last active Jan 2020
  • 2 conversations
  • 23 comments

Most recent activity

• in General

ummkay

• in General

tage, I agree that they should be included, but the rest is just egotistical. I've plenty of friends who can't solder but write awesome software and want to play with this stuff (and have made some really cool projects without soldering).

• in General

Yeah, I'm in the US. For example, adafruit sells the Arduino Micro for $22.95 and the Espruino for $39.95.

The new board sounds exciting. Can't wait to see what you come up with.

• in General

Thanks for the perspective. I think I'm just as atypical, but on the other side of the fence. While Javascript is appealing, I'm a software engineer, so different languages aren't scary to me, whereas I'm still learning the hardware side (I hardly know what you're talking about with the mosfet) and I'm horrible at soldering. I get by fine with through hole, but my attempts at SMT were disastrous. I guess I just need to learn with some cheaper components instead of my pricey Espruino boards that I don't want to bork.

• in General

Hey, Gordon. I was a Kickstarter backer and I've enjoyed playing with my boards. Just thought I'd share some of my experiences.

I see your Espruino boards as prototyping boards, for two reasons:

• it has extra components/size that I wouldn't always need if embedding (same applies to the ST discovery boards)
    • cost

However, it's not really the ideal prototyping board:

• I may be assuming too much from myself, but I doubt the audience that gets excited about Javascript on a micro also is great at SMT soldering (I sure am not and it's one of the main reasons I haven't played with the boards more)
    • no headers for easy connection to shields or breadboards