AdaMan82

Member since Aug 2018 • Last active Apr 2024
  • 5 conversations
  • 23 comments

Most recent activity

• in Projects

So I know this thread is super old but I wanted to say thanks to @Gordon that was the trick I was looking for!

I was able to use it also to make a sound reactive LED hat using some advice you gave someone else! Thanks for helping me as I am new to the coding world!

• in Projects

Thanks so much for this! I'll let you know how it goes!

• in Projects

I'm in the process of trying to make an LED coat like this one for a party next week. I'm driving 500 WS2811s with this poor little espruino pico because it's all I've got right now. I have no issues with powering them all, I have that figured out. What I am struggling with is generating the patterns. Too much math is happening to push out 3*500 random numbers to make the LED light change snappy. Basically it's a slideshow. It all works fine, just slow as hell.

What I want to do is either output a 25 light pattern x 20, but I can't figure out how (or if its even possible).

Anyone have any advice on how to do it? I thought about concatenating the array into a larger array (thus saving a bunch of math steps), or just trying to output the same array multiple times in one go using require("neopixel").write but cant seem to make it happen.

If there is no solution, I'll just use static patterns, but it would be cool for them to be animated.

Pic attached for desired outcome.

• in Pico / Wifi / Original Espruino

I guess I'll post this for others to find since I figured it out as I was making this post.

So despite making sure I don't execute at boot event after reset, I couldn't seem to clear my code from flash without doing E.setBootCode() which I understand might be problematic if my code crashes.

I solved the problem by re-flashing the firmware and it seems to have fixed it.

• 12 comments