• I had a lot of fun with MAX7219 8x8 matrices and was looking to play with an RGB version. Alas, closest one I can find is from https://www.52pi.com/home/221-raspberry-­pi-3-model-b-8x8-full-color-rgb-led-matr­ix-module-for-arduino-stm32.html?search_­query=led&results=30 . It's driven by 74HC595 shift registers. The page in the link listed a wiringPi code example for RPI. Is it going to be a straightforward port? I am decent with JS but total noob with electronic interfaces (SPI). Also, I can't seem to find datasheet for the module. Just wondering if it's worth taking the plunge to try making it work on espruino.

• Sure, it is possible. I do not know the details about the schema, but there are some typical patterns how it is done with 74HC595...

I assume 3 of the four feed the RGB by cols (or rows) and the fourth controls the commons by rows (or cols).

You use SPI with write to write 4-byte entities out to the 74HC595 per row (or col), where the first or last byte has only one bit on (or off) that 'selects' the common row (or col). You use the 'nss' pin to latch. You can keep the 'noe' always grounded. The latching defines the cutover.

Recently I did something like that with 3 x 595 in series/cascaded for 12 7-segment-plus-decimal display hat have segments A...H(H=DP) of all digits in common one one 595 and the common of each digit on one and a half 595.

Best is to have a buffer of 8 x 8x3-Byte entities (3 for the 24 bit color depth) that you write into (using Espruino Graphics lib), and an independent write in setInterval to update the display - one col (or row) at a time (24 bytes for the RGB plus additional byte with 1 bit on (or off) for the commons of the row (or col)).

• Thanks for the info. It will be useful for my investigation. This is how the sequence goes for RPi:

[#include](http://forum.espruino.com/sea­rch/?q=%23include)

[#define](http://forum.espruino.com/sear­ch/?q=%23define) RED_DATA 0