What about new version of module ESP8266WiFi

Posted on
Page
of 2
/ 2
Next
  • Dear Gordon,

I have 3 pcs Pico from you and lots of esp8266-01. Both things are very exciting toys.
    I have tried to connect them together to create even better toy. I have some experience with ESP but I am total newbie in JS. I went through and through the forum, did all right steps but my efforts to have reliable appliance were less successful. The reason for it is my weak practice in JS (I will improve myself :-) ) but stronger reason is too old AT firmware in the ESP8266 module. You surely know that actual state of firmware from Espressif Systems is incomparably better than half year ago (hundreds of errors removed)... and I have to say that also the level of documentation went the same direction. There is some complication with new AT firmware from Espressif, they have leaped over the border of 512KB flash which are soldered in modules ESP-01. BUT on the other side there is very capable community around ESP8266 chip in Russia where I have found the solution. They have compiled the special AT firmware which fits in the 512KB flash and is most actual. Also, they have written the best tool in Java for work with ESP8266 modules as I know. It is very good tool for testing connected chip, sent AT commands and check their responses but not only for that... I used Esplorer parallel (two HW modules with the same firmware) with Espruino IDE during my efforts to modify your original module "ESP8266WiFi" (see picture). Warning: there are small differences between real AT responses and responses according Espressif documentation.

Here are the right links ...
    ...firmware 512KB for ESP8266-01... version ATv0.25 from 12.06.2015
    http://esp8266.ru/download/sdk/AT25-SDK1­12-512k.bin
    ... AT instruction set EN... version ATv0.25 from 12.06.2015
    http://esp8266.ru/download/esp8266-doc/4­A-ESP8266__AT%20Instruction%20Set__EN_v0­.25.pdf
    ... Esplorer