Thank you and how can I help

Posted on
  • Hi Community.

Today, I got to use my newly practiced soldering skills, and hooked up the Espruino board to the CC3000 to make myself a fine little server. Thank you for the great tutorials to help guide me along!

I was pleased to find that everything worked. After just a little bit of tweaking, I created a server and was able to control the Espruino board with my iPhone. That was rewarding.

As I've been picking through the WebIDE and tutorials, I've been noticing things that could use some cleanup or otherwise benefit from assistance. Before I started deciding what I thought needs to be updated though, I thought I would pose the question to the community to see if there are any issues I can help with that are being seen time and again.

What types of things are priority for people that they want to do, or wish was a bit clearer?

My background is in design, so I'm thinking mainly along the lines of what I can contribute in terms of editorial / copyediting and front-end engineering (I've had my eye on the WebIDE / Blockly portion -- but I want to use it for a while before I add or alter anything).

Thanks for any thoughts. Just let me know how I can help.

Best! Louis

• Great! Thanks for offering to help! Definitely any work on cleaning up the tutorials (and especially making the Web IDE a bit easier to use) would be hugely appreciated... I'm happy to help wherever I can.

But as Louis asks - please post up - what can to be done to make it easier to use Espruino? What things do you find difficult and what information is hard to find?

• WebIDE I think could really benefit from some touchup, both UI and funtional:

No way to enlarge the text, or change the colors to improve visibility if you use the chrome store version. As a result, visibility of text is terribad on retina class displays. Ideally, i'd like support for pinch-to-zoom, but I'll be happy if I can just make the text big enough to read it without squinting...