Native HID support?

Posted on
  • SO, I've been playing around with my Espruino for a few days now, and I finally came up with a cool idea for a project. Without going into detail about it (it would bore you to tears), I need a programmable HID (human interface device) board to drive, well, a human interface.

I was going to buy an Arduino Micro since I know for a fact that it supports being a HID natively, with no extraneous boards or wiring. However, I then realized that it can also function as a COM device and. . .well, so can the Espruino!

So I've done a bit of Googling, but I can't seem to find a direct answer. So, here it goes:

Can the Espruino in particular (or, more generally, any device that can function as a COM USB device) act as a native HID, like the Arduino Micro can?

I should mention that though I am a fairly advanced programmer, I am still pretty new to microcontrollers, particularly when interfacing more than one device.

• Hi,

USB HID devices actually enumerate themselves differently to a USB VCP (COM) device - but there's no physical hardware difference, it's all software.

There's a feature request on GitHub for adding this, and I'd definitely like to get it done at some point - https://github.com/espruino/Espruino/iss­ues/221

For Espruino it would actually require modifications to the firmware though - it's not something you could do in pure JavaScript...

For now, I wonder whether there is any possibility of making the VCP device pretend it was a PS/2 keyboard. I guess that might be more easily done on Linux than other operating systems though...

• Also interested in this.

• The issue is what do people want? Keyboard, Mouse, Joystick? I guess all 3, but that's not possible all at once.

The best solution would probably be to allow people to specify their own USB device IDs and then we could just have some pre-made modules that did the main devices - but it'd also be possible to do all kinds of different peripherals.