• Hello,

I would like to attach multiple external buttons to a Puck. I want to do this so that I can send different commands via Bluetooth to an iPhone that the Puck is connected to. I'm aware that the Puck has a button underneath the silicone, however my use-case involves the buttons being distanced from the Puck itself, so I need some buttons wired into the Puck.

I of course need a Puck and some buttons. However, I don't know what other equipment I need to wire it all up.

What else do I need? Will I need a soldering iron?

I would like to use a Puck because it is powered by a small battery. If there is an alternate device that is powered by a small battery, and can also have external buttons connected, then I am open to using that, if its more appropriate.

I have no experience with hardware projects, but I am absolutely willing to learn.

Thanks
    RS

1 Attachment

• Puck1.png
  • Hi!

Just for a proof of concept, you can make do with just some wire and buttons - but a soldering iron and solder would make it much nicer and more reliable. I'd strongly suggest https://pine64.com/product/pinecil-smartĀ­-mini-portable-soldering-iron/ if you wanted to go that route.

But without an iron, just strip the plastic shielding off the wire (you can use your teeth in a pinch) then twist the wire braid with your finger so it's nice and smooth, poke it through the holes in the Puck and twist it back on the other side - see the attached.

You just need two wires per button - to make it easy put one on 3V and the other on a signal wire (which starts with D, like D1), and the tutorial at http://www.espruino.com/Pico+Buttons (while for breadboard and a different device) does give you the code you need.

1 Attachment

• IMG_20230605_104700.jpg
  • Hi Gordon,

That's great, thank you for the information. I have just purchased a Puck. I will go with the non-solder option for the proof of concept.