How to set BLE client name?

Posted on
  • When Bangle JS 2 connects to Android BLE GATT server, the latter shows just BJS2 address, no name.
    Is there a way to set a name for the BJS2 client?

• When Bangle.js 2 connects to an Android device? I think if the Android device attempted to connect to the Bangle, there's characteristic 0x2A00 on service 0x1800 that shows the device name.

But since it's effectively the Bangle that is driving the connection, it might be better if you had a characteristic on the Android GATT server that the Bangle wrote the name into.

Having said that, the Bangle's default advertised name is Bangle.js abcd where abcd is the last 4 digits of the Mac address - so given you have the address it'd be trivial to figure out what the name is

• The service on Android is standard Current Time Service 1805. It does not have that characteristic. I am just started playing around with this BLE technology, I am complete novice in.
    The Android GATTService API has BluetoothDevice class (https://developer.android.com/reference/­android/bluetooth/BluetoothDevice) that is instantiated upon BJS2 connects. The class has method getName(). I assumed that the name should be populated automatically as a part of connection/bonding protocol. I can see MAC. I expected there will be something like "Bangle 9713" in .getName() that should be somehow passed by NRF device.gatt.connect();.
    Is it not a case? Or my understanding is not correct?

• I'm not that clued up on how Android handles bluetooth connections I'm afraid.

But... You get the device name from Advertising packets usually. However, the connecting device doesn't have to advertise at all in order to connect to your Android phone.

For instance if you connect to the Bangle.js from your PC, at no point is the bluetooth name of the PC ever transferred to the Bangle. I imagine the same is true for Android.