JSX Support

Posted on
  • I like the Bangle.js Layout library, and I like React. Both are similar, in my opinion. One thing React has which Layout doesn't is JSX: Instead of having to write object literals or function calls, it can be something which looks like HTML or XML.
    For example:

const layoutObj = <Vertical>
        <Label font="20%">JSX</Label>
        <Button col="blue">Maybe</Label>
    </Vertical>;

instead of

const layout = { type: "v", c:[
      { type: "txt", font: "20%", label: "JSX"},
      { type: "btn", color: "blue", label:"maybe"}
    ]}

I think it would be cool if the Espruino interpreter supported some form of JSX, since it would make Bangle.js Layout code be easier to read.
    I've made a local branch which implements JSX in the interpreter.
    I think there can be a problem with JsHint not supporting it and stuff, but maybe it can remedied by updating CodeMirror to use ESLint?

• Wow, that's impressive!

I'm a bit new to this, but how does JSX normally work? Obviously if I paste this into a browser or Node.js, I get Unexpected token '<' - so does React rely on transpiling this code before upload? Or does it do some weird parsing/code rewriting thing normally?

I'm a bit iffy about building stuff into the interpreter itself that isn't part of the default JS spec - for instance looking at the changes I believe that the line 1 < /a/.exec("Hallo").index works at the moment but would fail with the new changes.

At the end of the day, Espruino really isn't anywhere near React, so I think if people start thinking the layout library behaves like it they will ultimately end up confused/disappointed.

However if we could actually just turn this into a generic XML parser then that could be awesome, and we could build functionality a bit like you're suggesting right in:

const layout= new Layout(`<Vertical>
    </Vertical>`);

• JSX is usually transpiled by the TypeScript compiler or Babel.