You are reading a single comment by @parasquid and its replies. Click here to read the full conversation.
  • Thank you for the detailed explanation! Most of it is well above my pay grade. If I read it right, the answer to my question is "no".

I am not a developer and won't be flashing any other software. I will leave that for folks with different talents than I have. I will just be using the watch and the software others have the talent to program for the community.

When I said mentioned my purchase decision what attracts me to the project is it was advertised as "open source" in the 1st article I read, then I was told it isn't fully open source. I am trying to move as much of my electronic life to open source projects.

• I would liken this to saying operating systems based on Linux are open source, except when you start adding binary blobs like nvidia or printer drivers.

You can recompile Espruino to not use bluetooth (for example the stm32 ones don't have bluetooth) but the watch won't be as functional (e.g. no app store, no wireless comms).

Nordic is the manufacturer of the microprocessor that powers the watch, and they also provide the bluetooth stack. Since they are the manufacturer, the Nordic provided bluetooth stack works best with the chip, similar to how nvidia drivers have better support than the nouveau reverse engineered drivers.