Transferring 8KB of Data

Posted on
  • I am new to this and I have a simple http server that responds with an 8KByte website but still says that memory is low and stops after halfway through. What's the best way to do it?

• If you need fast RAM to store live pages it could be worth checking at FRAM modules such as this one: https://www.adafruit.com/product/1895

FRAM stands for ferroelectric RAM, which is non-volatile, yet fast for read and write cycles.

• Mon 2021.03.29

'I am new to this'

Hi @Julian1 please elaborate, 'new' to Espruino, Javascript, micro-controllers, programming in general?

'responds with an 8KByte website but still says that memory is low and stops after halfway through'

Based on your above clarification, will assist us in focusing on where to expend energies. My gut feel is this may take a bit of back-n-forth effort before we narrow down where to focus that effort.

While @Jean-Philippe_Rey   ( BTW thanks for that link on that new technology. FRAM now on my list of play things to tinker with!! ) pointed out a method to increase physical memory, there may be plenty using the Espruino device you currently have.

I found my notes on stuffing chars into memory, and I was able to get a 30K code file, that was approx 1500 lines of 80 chars, which used 1500-2000 JsVars. So, your 8K is definitely doable.

Run process.env; and process.memory(); in the left hand side of the WebIDE and post the results please, and we'll go from there.

http://www.espruino.com/Reference#l_proc­ess_memory

Stuff to read up on while we ponder:

https://www.espruino.com/Internals
    16 byte JsVars

• Thank you for your quick response. I just realized I am in the wrong forum I should actually be in the "other boards". I hope that's not a big problem.

1 Attachment

• process.png
  • Tue 2021.03.30

' "other boards". I hope that's not a big problem '