bolidJS

Posted on
Page
of 2
Prev
/ 2
  • thanks @Gordon I have no experience with that. Do you think its possible to make it work with bangle watch? There is a joystick app for bangle.

• You mean a Bangle.js watch controlling your car? Absolutely - I don't think you need to use HID for that.

As an example, there's the Smartibot app - that communicates with a Smartibot (which also runs Espruino): https://github.com/espruino/BangleApps/b­lob/master/apps/smartibot/app.js

But basically all it does is:

• Connects
    • Uploads some JS code (not required as you could have already programmed your car)
    • Sends JS commands like w(1,0,0,0) to control the motors
  • Thanks @Gordon I will use that as an example. That will be nice option for controlling it. I didnt know about that project and its using espruino! Its cool, might be a nice Christmas gift for my toddler. They also have a web app controller so it might be a good starting point.
    I think I have my three options: phone webapp, Bangle watch and IDE testing plugin.
    BTW quick google search and I found this: https://www.instructables.com/ESP32-Blue­tooth-BLE-Remote-Control/
    I think it should work for me as well. I have something similar. I made a post about in the past.
    Probably the best and default option should be just using a phone with a webapp anyway.

• That's good - so it should be possible. To be honest 90% of the code in that instructable seems to be handling scanning for services and things - which Espruino handles for you anyway - so doing similar in Espruino should be pretty easy.

I just wish I had one here to try out :)

• Project update:
    I spend some time over Christmas break on the web joystick for the BolidJS. I feel like it should be separate project that could be used for other RC things. That might be idea for future or a fork of a current joystick. Anyway the code is here: repo WebJoystick and can be tested here: test WebJoystick