RAK8212: Issue with save() freezing up the system

Posted on
Page
of 2
/ 2
Next
  • I am currently playing around with a RAK8212 and wrote a module to interface with the Quectel BG96 that is aimed at Narrowband IoT (NB-IoT) communication. I tried my best, but I am a newbie and possibly the code quality is bad ...

But the actual issue is that when I call "save();" the RAK8212 freezes up and I need to press the reset button to get it back into live.

I would appreciate some hints what I am doing wrong or how the issue can be solved.

I have placed the code into a github repository at https://github.com/wklenk/rak8212-esprui­no-nb-iot

Output:

>
     ____                 _
    |  __|___ ___ ___ _ _|_|___ ___
    |  __|_ -| . |  _| | | |   | . |
    |____|___|  _|_| |___|_|_|_|___|
             |_| espruino.com
     1v99 (c) 2018 G.Williams
    Espruino is Open Source. Our work is supported
    only by sales of official boards and donations:
    http://espruino.com/Donate
    >Setting up external hardware. Please wait ...
    BME280 wiring set up.
    Quectel BG96 wiring set up.
    >save();
    =undefined
    Compacting Flash...
    Calculating Size...

• Are you connecting through Bluetooth, or USB Serial?

Can you also maybe try removing the setupExternalHardware() call that's in the global scope? With it, it gets called when you upload - but then when you save you save the current state (including whatever state of initialisation it was at), but then setupExternalHardware() gets called again from onInit() - it's possible that is causing you problems.

• Hi,

I am connecting through Bluetooth.
    I removed setupExternalHardware() from onInit(), but it still freezes.

Then I started with a tiny module BG96NB1.js, adding more and more lines of code step by step.
    I ended up in just adding lines like console.out("XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX") to find out the module size that still worked, while adding just one more line of console.out made save() freeze again.