• I'm getting very random results using DS18B20 one wire probes on two MDBT42Q boards. I'm using the latest firmware (as of March 2) but even simple searches for probes turns up unreliable results.
    I'm using pin D11, have two DS18B20 probes that I've used reliably with other hardware (not Espruino), the probes' VDD pin is hard wired to VDD and I have a 4.7K pullup resistor.

Here is the code:

var ds = new OneWire(D11);
    var sensors;
    digitalWrite(D3,0);
    function searchFor() {
      digitalWrite(D3,1);     // pulse trigger
      ds.reset();
      digitalWrite(D3,0);     // pulse trigger
      sensors = ds.search();

if (sensors.length >= 1) {
      console.log("Found "+sensors.length+" probes!");
      console.log(sensors);

} else
      console.log("No One Wire probes found!");
    } 

setInterval(searchFor, 20000);   // search every 20 seconds

Attached is a snap of the IDE output.

1 Attachment

• OneWireSearchBreakout.JPG
  • Sun 2019.03.03

While I have no experience with this module, I do observe the following:

ref http://www.espruino.com/DS18B20

Line #2 of the code example above doesn't appear to pull in the corresponding module, and most likely isn't creating an object instance.

See snippet under heading 'Software' also 2nd line:
    var sensor = require("DS18B20").connect(ow);

Therefore what is being observed is in fact what the circuitry sees. Unknown

Was the example on that page tried verbatim?

• @TomWS' code goes only after the wire and queries it for how may devices are connected... it has nothing to do yet with the device(s) he's planning connect to the wire or has already connected.

My explanation is that for what ever reason the attached sensor has two ids or detection is messed up.