Controlling puck.js over web BLE

Posted on
  • Hi, i am trying to control the puck.js from a web bluetooth website. I am not a programmer but i do understand some basics.
    So far i have some basic code, grabbed from one of Gordons tutorials, what i am trying to achieve is to make the puck advertise a link and then of course disconnect it from the computer in order for it to advertise. if anyone knows a quick and easy solution please respond, would be really grateful.

Here is the code.

<html>
     <head>
     </head>
     <body>
      <script src="https://www.puck-js.com/puck.js"></­script>

<button onclick="Puck.write('LED1.set();\n');">O­n!</button>
      <button onclick="Puck.write('LED1.reset();\n');"­>Off!</button>

<button onClick="Puck.write('NRF.setAdvertising(­[require("ble_eddystone").get("goo.gl/B3­J0Oc")]);\n');">Advertise</button>

<button onClick="Puck.disconnect();>disconnect device</button>

</body>
    </html>

• IMO this doesn't work because at the time you call require("ble_eddystone"), the Puck is already left alone without any link to reach the module source. What you could try is to upload in the Puck a script like

var beacon=require("ble_eddystone");
    save();

Then on your web page , the command should be <button onClick="Puck.write('NRF.setAdvertising(­[beacon.get("goo.gl/B3J0Oc")]);\n');">Ad­vertise</button>.
    This way, you ensure the module ble_eddystoneis already available on the Puck.

• Ok so i have uploaded the script into the puck and changed the buttons onClick function, now when i try to click the advertise button, it is giving me UncaughtSyntaxError.

I have also corrected the code on the disconnect device button as it has a little spelling mistake.

The code looks like this now:

<html>
     <head>
     </head>
     <body>
      <button onclick="Puck.write('LED1.set();\n');">O­n!</button>
      <button onclick="Puck.write('LED1.reset();\n');"­>Off!</button>