standard bluetooth services in espruino ?

Posted on
  • Hi

I'm new to espruino and I wondered if there was a way to expose the standard bluetooth services, for example the Battery Service ?

I wish to use the scriptability for example to send IR codes when a temperature is met however don't want to step away from tooling/libraries for interacting with standard bluetooth.

How would this best be achieved ?

Thanks

John Jones

• Hi,

Yes, it's really easy to get Espruino to advertise standard services - you just look up the service you want on the bluetooth site: https://www.bluetooth.com/specifications­/gatt/services

In this case: https://www.bluetooth.com/specifications­/gatt/viewer?attributeXmlFile=org.blueto­oth.service.battery_service.xml

Then you just use setServices/updateServices with the info from that page, so something like:

NRF.setServices({
      0x180F : {
        0x2A19 : {
          value : Puck.getBatteryPercentage(),  readable : true
        }
      }
    });

setInterval(function() {
      NRF.updateServices({
        0x180F : {
          0x2A19 : {
           value : Puck.getBatteryPercentage()
          }
        }
      });
    }, 60000);

• Hello there, I'm building an Android app with Gatt connection and receiving data from puck.
    I want to know how to advertise data with byte and value?? I want to advertise temperature, light, battery and a state(true, false). How can I do that like the example above? Can I send them all together or I have to advertise them separately?
    Thanks in advance!

• Yes, you can send them all together if you want...

var myState = 0;

function getMyData() {
      return [E.getTemperature(),Puck.light()*256, Puck.getBatteryPercentage(),myState];
    }

NRF.setServices({
      0x1234 : {
        0x5678 : {
          value :  getMyData(),  readable : true
        }
      }
    });
    setInterval(function() {
      NRF.updateServices({
          0x5678 : {
           value : getMyData()
          }
        }