Cannot connect to ESP8266

Posted on
  • Dear forum,

I've done a few things with the ESP8266 and Arduino IDE so far, but I'm far away from being an expert :D Especially all the booting and flashing stuff is a riddle to me

And I thought, I might try Espruino, even though I'm pretty confused where and how the JS code is saved on the ESP without being newly flashed...

But apparently, I'm far from getting it to work, because I cannot connect to my ESP after flashing.

What I did:
    I tried with ESP-01 and ESP-12E. First, I erased the flash of both, then I flashed it as described here: http://www.espruino.com/ESP8266_Flashing­. After that, it says, I should be able to connect to via screen (ran on Ubuntu with sudo screen actually) to the ESP. I tried "sudo screen /dev/ttyUSB0 115200" and also with baud rates 57600 and 9600.
    I started out with the ESP-12E which I've never used before, but switched to the ESP-01, which I used few times already, so that I could make sure being in the correct mode.
    But the results are the same: On the console in screen I only see gibberish when I restart the ESP. It's kinda as if the baud is wrong or as if it's in boot mode again (what I can exclude with the ESP-01 though). And neither I can type in anything...

PS: I tried flashing both sizes, 4M and 32M

I'm sorry if this is a very basic problem, but I really tried to find an answer but yeah... no success...

Thanks in advance
    Timo

EDIT:
    OK, played a bit with the baud rates and suddenly got this message on baud 74880...
    Someone who can explain to me what I'm doing wrong here? :D

ets Jan  8 2013,rst cause:2, boot mode:(3,7)

load 0x40100000, len 1396, room 16 
    tail 4
    chksum 0x89
    load 0x3ffe8000, len 776, room 4 
    tail 4
    chksum 0xe8
    load 0x3ffe8308, len 540, room 4 
    tail 8
    chksum 0xc0
    csum 0xc0

2nd boot version : 1.4(b1)
      SPI Speed      : 80MHz
      SPI Mode       : QIO
      SPI Flash Size & Map: 32Mbit(512KB+512KB)