• First, big props Gordon for a fantastic idea and product!

I'm just starting out on a project to add accent lighting in my car. I'm using WS2812B RGB light strips. The tutorial on the programming a similar LED lightstring was extremely helpful.

I will have several picos in the car, not easily accessible when everything's buttoned up and the trim is all put back. I'd like to be able to connect to any of them wirelessly and ideally interact with my laptop right in the IDE as if it was connected with a USB cable... is this possible with either the BT or wifi modules?

Also, what sort of IPC is available over bluetooth? I'd love to be able to easily hack up some app on my Android phone to control the things in addition to the LIN bus traffic I will be monitoring to set colors, intensity, etc.

Heck, the best way to do this would be to put a single pico on the LIN bus to sniff, then control the lighting via wireless talking to them.

Any/all advice and pointers to help me get the wireless part of this figured out is greatly appreciated!

• Perhaps the most straightforward would be to use an esp8266-01 module for each pico, although if all were in station mode, you would need a central router to talk to. If there were in ap mode, you would have to connect to each one in turn to send updates.

You possible could have one in ap mode, and have the other unit and your phone connect to that ap, so that everything is on the same network.

• @Wilberforce, great suggestion. If it is a AP, can it also be or host the server, and when so, how would the server communicate? Can the server use the AP as its wifi?

• I think one of the easiest is to use an HC-05/HC-06 bluetooth module - you can get them pre-wired with 0.1" headers, or there's a 'shim' for connecting them to a Pico: http://www.espruino.com/Bluetooth