nRF51822 ?

Posted on
  • Hey,

What's the chance of getting Espruino running on nRF51822? It's a tiny ARM Cortex-M0 with 256kB flash, 16kB RAM, and most importantly, built-in Bluetooth LE. Found in Estimote, RFduino, most iBeacon things, and also a lot of fingernail-sized boards on eBay for £5'ish.

I'm a newbie when it comes to hardware-level stuff, so I have no idea how practical this would be, but I expect it would fall on this spectrum:

1. No way in hell, it's a Cortex-M0 with only 16kB RAM!
    2. Possible, but unlikely without a tonne of work.
    3. Maybe.
    4. Sure!

My guess is probably Point (1).

Anyway, I figured it was worth asking, as it's a nice little thing but I'd far prefer to be programming it with Espruino than messing about with gcc-arm-none-eabi and a Segger!

Tom

• At one point I had been chatting to the RFduino guys, and I think mbed has a board that uses it too.

Basically: yes, I'd be pretty sure it will work. Actually getting Espruino running should be pretty easy, and while you're a bit limited with 16kB, you can still do an awful lot.

However the issue is support for I2c/SPI/PWM/Serial/Timers - that's something that's taken me a huge amount of time with Espruino/STM32, and is basically something that will need re-writing if you move away from STM32.

A few things to watch out for, from what I've gathered about it:

• The CPU is partially used for bluetooth. I believe there's some kind of RTOS that needs to run, so I guess that will take up some of the ROM and RAM too
    • I heard that the bluetooth also takes absolute priority, which makes it hard to do anything timing critical - for instance you may have a timer firing off an interrupt to do something, but if the ARM is sevicing bluetooth then that'll get put off until a lot later. It's possible the situation is better now though.
  • Hi guys,