Drarok

Member since Dec 2016 • Last active Apr 2017
  • 4 conversations
  • 17 comments

Most recent activity

• in Puck.js

I've got a 3.3v power supply unit which I was using, but later also tried it just off the battery.

I've no idea what was causing the dimness – that's since gone away. Bad wiring or dodgy configuration is entirely likely!

• in Puck.js

I don't know what 'bias' means in this context.

I'm a developer, so confident of my code, but an electronics noob. Pretty sure it's working sensibly now, but either my breadboard has a bad connection with a wire, or I've soldered a wire badly. I wouldn't know how to share a schematic either, other than to take a picture of what I've got!

Thanks for your help though. 👍🏼

• in Puck.js

And now it's not working at all again, and I've no idea why! 😭

Edit: I think that failure was a dry joint or bad wire. Ugh!

• in Puck.js

Oh! Well, that's interesting.

I've switched to using SPI1.write(0b01000000, PINS.LATCH) and that almost works perfectly, except when I turn two adjacent LEDs on, one of them is extremely dim. I suspect that's just bad wiring or low battery, since if I turn them on individually, they work fine.

I can't believe it was such a simple mess up on my part. Thanks!

• in Puck.js

I've been trying to light a few LEDs using the above shift register without success. I'm having to translate from Arduino guides to Espruino/Puck.js, so undoubtedly I've got something wrong.

I've tried using SPI1.setup() as well as let s = new SPI(); s.setup();, but neither work.

The options I'm passing to setup are:

let options = {
        sck: PINS.CLOCK,
        // miso: PINS.LATCH,
        mosi: PINS.DATA,
        order: 'lsb',
        mode: 0,
      };

And I've tried using s.write([0, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0], PINS.LATCH) as well as manually setting the latch low/high around the write.

Wiring is as follows (the comment is the pin number on the shift register itself):

const PINS = {
      DATA: D28, // 14