GPS recorder with GPS setup

Posted on
  • Hi. I have been using GPS recorder for a few weeks and it is working great. A few days ago I started playing with GPS setup so I can improve the battery use. The problem is that it is no clear how this two applications work together. The thing is that if I set up an update interval of 60 seconds in GPS setup, do I have to adjust the same interval in GPS recorder? what happens if these intervals are different? What I am expecting is that if the interval in GPS setup is bigger than in the recorder, the recorder will get repeated locations. Is that correct?

• Right now the GPS recorder's Period is the number of GPS reports it waits for before writing data away (you can tell when it gets a GPS report because the icon animates each time it gets one).

With the GPS setup, if you set the interval of 60 seconds I believe that means you only get a fix every 60 seconds, so having a GPS record interval of 1 will mean it records every GPS fix (so it's recording every 60 seconds).

It's a bit confusing and it's something we were thinking of maybe changing - but if we did change it, you wouldn't get repeated locations. It'd just be a location every X seconds or whenever one came from GPS, whichever was slower.

• Thanks for the response.

The is something I still do not understand. Here is my configuration: I have the GPS recorder with a time period of 30. I have the GPS setup in SuperE power mode and an update interval of 30 seconds. If I understood well your explanation, I should get a GPS fix every 30 seconds. If GPS recorder, saves one of 30 fixes, that would mean a record every 900 seconds. But it is not working like that, it is saving fixes much faster. Does it mean these settings in GPS setup (update and search times) only work for PSMOO mode?

• All I can think is the GPS is actually sending out several packets when it's on, rather than just one.