Need help with my first watch face

Posted on
  • Hey there,

I am not that experienced in javascript and spent the last week tinkering with my watch. As my first project, I tried to adapt an existing watch face (bold clock) to my liking.... It works for the most part, but not completly...

I included a second smaller watch face and hand to show secondes. That works, but unfortunately this small clock is in front of the hour/minute hands. How to I move that into the background, so that the seconds are behind the hour/minute hands?

Secondly the widget area doesn't work properly. On the left side the pedometer widget shows up. The battery- and bluetooth widget on the right side however do not show up. The first time I see these is in the settings...

I would really appreciate it, if somebody could have a look at my code.

github

Thanks!

Luis

• Wow, that looks really cool! You can run it in the emulator using this link: https://www.espruino.com/ide/emulator.ht­ml?codeurl=https://raw.githubusercontent­.com/chili-666/BangleApps/master/apps/bl­uesec/bluesec.js

this small clock is in front of the hour/minute hands

That's a hard one. What I'd suggest is to draw it to an offscreen buffer, and then draw the hour/minute hands over that...

So create a new graphics with:

var gs = Graphics.createArrayBuffer(54,54,16);

Then draw on gs rather than g with drawSecondFace/Hand

Then draw the minute and hour hands to gs as well - you'll have to offset them so everything lines up ok.

Finally render that to the screen using g.drawImage({width:54,height:54,bpp:16,b­uffer:gs.buffer}, ox,oy)

Ideally you could use 8 bits per pixel instead of 16 too. It might work, but it's possible the colours will be a bit 'off'.

Secondly the widget area doesn't work properly

That's because you're clearing the whole screen with g.clear(); every minute. The easiest method is just not to clear the widget area - do g.clearRect(0,24,239,239) instead.