Able to connect Chrome IDE in Windows but not Linux

Posted on
  • Is there something that would cause the Chrome IDE app to not work in Linux only?

I am new to Espruino / ESP32 and I am trying to get started. I was able to successfully flash my ESP32 and connect through Windows using the Chrome IDE app and I was able to connect to my WIFI. However, on Linux I am not able to connect using the Chrome app. When I chose to connect via the USB option I get the the messages "Unable to retrieve board information. Connection Error?" and "Connected to /dev/ttyUSB0 (No response from board)". If I try connecting through the IP address (as set through windows) I only get "Connection Failed." I am able to connect under linux using cutecom and I even get a response with the ESP32's IP address if I send it the command "wifi.getIP().ip"

Thank you,
    David

• Hi David!

First guess would be you didn't change the communication speed to 115200.

• I have double checked the speed setting and it is at 115200. Have attached a few screenshots. Is there something in Linux such as a permission setting or something that could prevent Chrome from connecting? I'm running Debian version stretch (9.6).

Thanks!

4 Attachments

• connection_error.png
    • select_usb.png
    • cutecom_connection.png
    • Baud_rate.png
  • One more thing to check: Settings -> Console, maybe that contains some clue.

Here is the output from my machine (You said you have a windows machine, but may save some time)

>>> Connecting...
    ForceThrottle option is set - set Slow Write = true
    [object Object]
    Connected [object Object]
    Got "E (544) spiram: SPI RAM enabled but initialization failed. Bailing out.\r\n"
    No Prompt found, got "\n" - issuing Ctrl-C to try and break out
    Splitting for Ctrl-C, delay 250
    Received a prompt after sending newline... good!
    >>> Sending...
    ---> "\u0010print(\"<\",\"<<\",JSON.stringify­(process.env),\">>\",\">\")\n"
    >>> Sent