nrf51288-DK storage

Posted on
  • Hello, I'm new to Espruino, however I really like it!

I've built nrf51288-DK Espruino image to play with an nrf51288 chip. It mainly works, e.g. Bluetooth stuff, reading digital analog pins etc. However I can't get it to store something in EEPROM. I'm following some example where you need to load a module, e.g. Storage, Flash etc but non of them actually loads...

I've got a simple code that does:

require("Storage");
    console.log(Storage.debug());

This print the following:

Uncaught Error: Module Storage not found
     at line 29 col 18
    require("Storage");
                     ^

Does it mean that nrf581 chip does not support Storage?

PS. I've tried to load "Flash" module with the same result.

• nrf51288 has only 256KB of flash (and no EEPROM) so even the Espruino build had to be cut down on features so Flash and Storage modules are not present. See e.g. https://www.espruino.com/Reference#Stora­ge "Note: This is not available in devices with low flash memory"

I'd suggest to get nRF52832 for Espruino instead, it is better and not that much expensive, there are e.g very cheap <$5 nrf52 modules on aliexpress (like this one posibly with this adapter) . Or the DS-D6 smartwatch is currently $6.99 on gearbest and you also get battery+charger and display with the nrf52 chip :-) So IMO there in no reason to get nrf51 today if you target Espruino unless your needs are very, very basic. Arduino might be better fit for nrf51.

• Hi,

You mean the nRF51822?

That's not quite the way you'd use storage. You could try:

var storage = require("Storage");
    print(storage.list());

But I just checked and the 51822 build doesn't have it in, since it's got SAVE_ON_FLASH defined. nRF51 is really tight on flash memory so you can't easily build without.