Servo does not fully rotate to 0 or 180 degrees

Posted on
  • Hello, I'm fairly new to working with the Espruino Wifi and I love it, however, I'm working on a project using the servo module and am finding that when I send the servo a command like s.move(0); it does not travel as far as when I call it's equivalent s.write(0); on my Particle Photon board. The same goes for s.move(1); it does not travel the full rotation like it does when I call s.write(180); on the Photon. I tried to also call it directly using digitalPulse and found the same results.

This is causing an issue because I'm losing about 15-20% of the rotation which I need for this project. Is there anyway I could get the servo to go fully to 0 or 180 degrees using the Espruino? Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

• Glad to hear that you love it [Espruino].

...will take a look at it... Seems to me an issue with the pulse length... pulse lengths not covering the full range.

What do you use as power supply for the servo?

• Right now, I'm powering the Espruino via the USB and have the servo sharing the ground and powered via a separate 5v power supply like the docs recommend.

Below is the code I'm using. It's pretty basic. I was just trying to test out the servo module.

var hat = require('servo').connect(A0);
    var pos=0,t=null;

function sweep(){
      hat.move(pos,500,function(){
        if(pos===0){pos=1;}else{pos=0;}
        t=setTimeout(function(){ sweep(); },1000);

});
    }
    hat.move(0.5);
    sweep();

• Ic. Good practice is to put the actions into an onInit() function. To get it going on development time, you add a delayed invocation of it, like this:

var hat = require('servo').connect(A0);
    var pos=0,t=null;
    function sweep(){
      hat.move(pos,500,function(){
        if(pos===0){pos=1;}else{pos=0;}
        t=setTimeout(function(){ sweep(); },1000);

});
    }
    function onInt() {
      hat.move(0.5, 1000, sweep)
    }