Espruino target audience?

Posted on
  • What ultimately is the grand vision for the Espruino project? Is it ultimately the hope that Espruino will be adopted by professionals and used in a lot of consumer products? Or is it intended to be more of an intro-to-embedded devices product?

First of all, I hope it's the former. And it's incredibly impressive what @Gordon has been able to build here. I get the impression that he's single-handedly building the entire embedded JS platform, which is f****g amazing. Something I could never do, I'm just a simple JS developer and inventor.

But certain aspects of the project lead me to wonder if the latter might be a bit true, or if there's a little less focus on one over the other, than there probably should be. For example, the graphical editor seems to me like more of a nice-to-have than a mission-critical sort of feature. And to a lesser extent, the web IDE also. It's really great that I can paste some code into a box, hit run, and see it just works. That's awesome. But once I've decided to start building my product, with Espruino at the heart of it, I'm not going to be working in the web IDE. I use Sublime Text, and the web IDE doesn't have any of the productivity features I use. Performing a copy-paste every time I want to run my code is nuts. I'm confused why there didn't already exist a CLI tool to solve this. True, there is a CLI Espruino tool, but none of the needed features were included.

My point is this: I would have expected the most important features of the web IDE to be available from CLI before a graphical editor was made, if the focus is on professionals. I think that having a focus on professionals will be important to the success of Espruino in general.

There's a couple other items I'd like to draw attention to.