Temperature Web Monitor

Posted on
  • Hello,

I'd like to start monitoring my house temperature using several espruino (one in each room for ex) so that the data is sent to a webserver (Raspberry Pi maybe?) and then I can monitor the reading on a browser.

The data would be used to adjust my pellet stove so that I can set the running programs better.

My questions are:

1. Is it something someone has done already? If yes, where can I find it?
    2. If it is not something some has done, how can I set up the various espruino satellites to measure the temperature and send it via the wifi module to the webserver?
    3. Is the RaspberryPI a good choice as a webserver?
    4. What else do I need? I'm new at this so your help will be appreciated.

Thank you.

• ...may be you just use another Espruino instead of a RaspberryPI. Espruino can be a web server as well and then directoy control your pellet stove.

Your satellites could come out of deep sleep every once in a while - like 1..3 minutes (or on a button press after you flushed the room with cold air) - power the wifi, initialize it, connect, and do a get or ajax request with the room id and temp as a parms (or data).

Your central Espruino would be constantly on, wifi connected, and run a Web server. The incoming request url is parsed and action taken accordingly and also hold on to the information. With any wifi device you can then go for the cenral expruino server as well with a different URI and pull and display the held data...

Since the server - for example ES 8266 - can run only a very limited number of connections at one time, therefore using a ajax request with timeout on the satellites could manage a retry.

• Thank you allObjects.

I have further questions now:

1. For each satellite, I need a sensor DS18B20, a CC3000 module, a power supply and a pico Espruino. For the base, I need the CC3000, a power supply and the Espruino. Is that right?