Power / battery / sleep

Posted on
  • I'm new to battery-powering. A few questions I hope you can help me with

The docs say that the Pico will not enter deep sleep while on USB power. Will it wake from deep sleep when USB power arrives, or can it be configured to do so?

If I comnect both battery and USB I presume this is safe but will there be zero draw from the battery while USB is connected?

Next two questions are probably electronics ones which I am again new to:

When deep sleep is entered, sounds like 3.3V output on the Pico will be off. Therefore to create a "wake on push" button, I would plan to wire the button directly between battery and a pin I can monitor, but I am unsure how to wire this so that it won't interfere with the "normal" circuit.

Lastly, if I want to use both VBat and 3.3V outputs, can the circuits share the same ground? I would assume not, but maybe it is safe to ground through another pin set to 0v? And if I just set a pin to 1 using digitalWrite, I assume that is a 3.3 v output, and if so how does it differ from the main 3.3V output, other than that the latter is always on?

Saw the very helpful tip on another thread about measuring incoming battery voltage through E.getAnalogVRef in another thread - thanks Gordon.

• Hi,

Will it wake from deep sleep when USB power arrives, or can it be configured to do so?

Yes, it should do that automatically.

If I comnect both battery and USB I presume this is safe but will there be zero draw from the battery while USB is connected?

Absolutely - just make sure you connect the battery using either the JST connector that you can solder to the bottom, or via the BAT_IN wire. There's special circuitry in there to handle the switchover of power sources.

When deep sleep is entered, sounds like 3.3V output on the Pico will be off.

Nope, it's actually fine. The GPIOs keep working (including pullups/etc) - just use the button like you would do normally and it'll keep working with deep sleep.