A point in the right direction

Posted on
  • Hello everyone , I wanted to use the espruino pico for a project but i am not sure if it is capable of all my needs . I have little to no knowledge in these types of applications but i do have quite an extensive knowledge in javascript and other programming languages. My projects require the use of a Pico , Gps Module and Wifi module, i wish to connect these modules on one board but i am not sure if that will be possible. Any help is appreciated also any guides or references or books for a beginner i could use ?

• Hi and welcome to the Espruino side of things :) the Espruino is most definitely well suited for your project. For wifi have a look at:http://www.espruino.com/ESP8266
    And for gps have a look at: http://www.espruino.com/GPS

• Hi and welcome to the Espruino side of things :) - What a great welcome... worth to repeat!

Extensive Javascript knowledge calls for Espruino not just for the programming of the application logic but also to talk to any connected hardware. Espruino's comprehensive implementation of low level hardware access through Javascript and the vast module library provides you easy control on your Javascript home turf. Many - if not all - who did other things too - such as Arduino - always are glad to 'come back for a home game' in Javascript, and call it 'vaccation' vs. (heck of) work.

Personally, a few years ago, I returned to micro controller Arduino and a-like and C / AVR after lots of lots of much older stuff. But when I came across Espruino - at that time the standard board was 1V3 and software was 1V64 - I switched in less than a blink of an eye. It was not even worth to spend a thought... even though I had invested quite some money and even more so time. I hope you read between the lines: no regret what s0 ever.