• I have started my first project, I am new to electronics but an old hand at coding.

I have 5v regulated DC power connected to my circuit (not via the espruino 5v), espruno is powered via USB, I am running code via the API

I am making a RGB LED strip change color depending on distance measured by ultrasonic echo.

I am just experimenting with the sensor module:

var sensor = require("HC-SR04").connect(A0,A2,functio­n(dist) {
      console.log("response "+Math.floor(dist)+" cm away");
    });

Now this seems to continuously send output after loaded until you trigger it via:

sensor.trigger();

Does anyone know why this is?

Also, I seem to be getting very random results that don't have anything to do with putting an object in front of the sensor when I use setInterval, I have wired it up as described here http://www.espruino.com/HC-SR04

If anyone has experience with this sensor I would love some pointers.

• further to this, now I have set it up to only trigger on button 1 press, each time it is pressed it returns several times:

Code:

var sensor = require("HC-SR04").connect(A2,A3,functio­n(dist) {
      console.log("response "+Math.floor(dist)+" cm away");
    });

function runIt(){
      console.log("button pressed");
      sensor.trigger();
    }

runIt();

setWatch(runIt, BTN1, {repeat:true, edge:"rising"});

Results:

button pressed
    response 27015 cm away
    response 11 cm away
    response 13 cm away
    response 109 cm away

I would expect one response per trigger, or am I missing something?

• The code as presented does exactly one trigger... on upload, and then everytime you enter in the console sensor.trigger().

If you see it constantly doing something, you may have a grounding issue from the fact that you power Espruino from USB and your distance sensor device from you 5V power supply.

Did you make a connection from GND of the device to GND of Espruino?