Very General Question About Learning Some Coding

Posted on
  • I am very intrigued by the Espruino because I find programming in Javascript with the Chrome App to be brilliant for programming dunces such as myself to be brilliant. Javascript is straight forward, easy to read & understand, and has the dual screen showing you graphically what's happening.

I am an electronic tech so hardware I know, but I find software, or learning it, to be extremely difficult because of the usual reasons(syntax,etc). I guess what I am trying to say that this may be my best hope ever to learn how to code.

I have umpteen Arduinos, Two RasPi's , and originally thought the PI would be the way to learn Python, which it very well may be. But I will never be a Pi fan as it takes a complete computer set up just to get up & running. Making a LED(s) blink signally or in string gets boring after the millionth time.
    It may be that I am just going down the same path again with trying to learn some programming language. It well be I need a head shrinker... But I find the Espruino compelling from the learning programming angle as each keystroke(or so) does something tangible.

I have been playing with electronics for 40+ years so I really don't get my jollies reading the temp on a LCD connected to an LED.
    So I would really appreciate some feedback from anyone about my hunch that this would be one of best ways to learn programming ever to come down the road! It just seems the less bull between the geek & the board-the better off one is! This set up keeps it simple! Yes? No?

• I certainly found the Espruino to be much less painful to start with than Arduino. I wouldn't say the Arduino was hard, but doing more than the basics with it gets harder faster than the Espruino. SPI and I2C are tricky to use. On Espruino, I2C just works. SPI just works.