• ( See updated version of module)

Was looking for some serially connected RAM that has to briefly hold on to some processing data (not like EEPROM / SDCard) and has to be very fast. Came across this thing and it has great specs (datasheet attached). Ordered - 2 pieces - and got package yesterday. 'Tin-glued' it to Espruino board, added some more machined socket pins for connecting. With hardware 'complete', I started coding...

Reading the device ID got pretty quickly going... even though not standard. Everything after that became just rubbish... and still is. Nevertheless, I publish it here...

// FRAMSPI_inline.js (c) muet.com

// F RAM SPI Module

var framspiModule = { connect: function(spi,cs,hd,wp) {
      pinMode(cs,"output"); cs.set();
      if (hd) { pinMode(hd,"output"); hd.set(); }
      if (wp) { pinMode(wp,"output"); wp.set(); }

var fram = 
    { id: function() {
        var d = spi.send(
          [0x9F,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01­,0x01,0x01]
         ,cs); // chip select, write 0x9F, send 10*0x00 not working
        return d;
      }
    , stat: function() { 
        var d = spi.send(
          [0x05,0x00]
         ,cs);
        return d;
      }
    , wen: function() {
        spi.write(
          [0x06,0x00]
         ,cs);
      }
    , wdi: function() {
        spi.write(
          [0x04,0x00]
         ,cs);  
      }
    , read: function(a,n){
        cs.reset();
        spi.write([0x03,0x00,0x00]);
        var d = new Uint8Array(n);
        while (n>0) { n--; d[n] = spi.send(0x00); } 
        cs.set();
        return d;
      }
    , write: function(a,d){
        cs.reset();
        spi.write([0x02,a>>8,a]);
        spi.write(d);
        spi.write([0xFF]);
        cs.set();
      }
    };
      return fram;
    }
    };

SPI2.setup({sck:B13, miso:B14, mosi:B15, baud: 1000000});

var fram = framspiModule.connect(SPI2,B12);

console.log(fram.id());

/*
    fram.write(  0,"FRAM@000");
    fram.write(  8,"FRAM@008");