Espruino interrupts

Posted on
  • Hello! I haven't programmed in JavaScript for at least a dozen years and I'm sure it has changed a bit over the years. I am also fairly new to the Arduiono/electronics/microcontroller/IOT­/maker scene, but I am learning and enjoying it! I am an Espruino Pico backer and am really looking forward to playing with it and re-learning JS.

I noticed somewhere that Espruino JS doesn't support hardware interrupts. Is this true? If so, what would be the explanation? It seems like that could be a severe limitation. Please understand that I'm not at all trying to be negative against Espruino, I am just wondering what the reasons and ramifications are.

Thanks so much!
    Manxome

• @Manxome in a similar way you can attach an Interrupt to a pin on, say, an Arduino, you can set a watch on a pin in Espruino. When the pin changes (rises, falls, or both) it will call your function:

http://www.espruino.com/Reference#l__glo­bal_setWatch

• @Manxome, it does... and very cool, jus as @thomc explains. Did JS a while a go for a lot... in 97, but got laughed at a lot by the .jsp 'fans' - even by my own kin - ... guess what: it's back bit time, for a while now and is THE client platform (with SimglePageApps instead of .jsp Web pages etc.). The mid 80' through mid 90' regarding client-server enjoying renaissance riding the easy to use Web http(s) protocol wave.

Espruino uses interrupts for the setTimeot() and setIntervall(),

Espruino is THE thing for exactly just one (1) battery for a life time due to the interrupt drivenness of the whole infrastructure.

Put setBusyIndicator(LED1) and *setSleepIndicator(LED2) into your code and then you see how Espruino goes from activity to no activity to absolute silent Zzzzzzzzzz... until the next event wakes it up... totally different to the do loop in arduino's main.