• Hi!

I just got my banglejs2 a couple of weeks ago and started playing with it the other day.

I've begun building a text input system which I think could work pretty well for a smart watch. Original inspiration came from Scribble app by @enricorov.

I'm more or less a novice programmer and this is my first time writing javascript. Needless to say, the code could surely be shorter with improved readability if it was further split up in functions etc. However I feel like it's pretty performant!

The espruino documentation has been very helpful! So far I've done the 'first app' and 'clock' guide as well as looked to the reference for inspiration. Thanks!

Check it out and leave a comment! :) I've attached the code, just load it via the web ide. When I feel it's more or less done and cleaned up I'll look into adding it to the app loader.

How it works:
    Drag along the red rectangle and release to select a letter.
    Do the same for green rectangle to select number or punctuation.
    Releasing on left or right part of black part of screen for backspace and space.

"Bug":
    I use the standard dark theme. It's not very pleasant to use this with the light theme as of now.

3 Attachments

• Very cool idea, seems to work quite well!

• Looks like a really neat idea! This actually came up somewhere else recently but I'll try and come up with a 'user input' app type so we can have a way of inputting text in apps without every app having to implement their own keyboard.

• I implemented a simple keyboard in the 'Bordle' app that mimcs the functionality of the 'Scribble' app, but uses Layout library buttons to simplify the code. Arguably it is a very simple keyboard since it mostly supports upper case letters, but perhaps it could be expanded upon...

• @Gordon Thanks! :) The idea of a'user input' type sounds very sensible! :)