Semi-persistent storage for widget state

Posted on
  • Hi,
    I am fairly new to javascript and I just got my bangle.
    However I already made my first widget, which does exactly what I want and is useful. The device really made this easy. Thanks.

I have the following problem, however:
    I would like to preserve a state (boolean variable) in the widget, so that when I long press BTN3,
    the variable is not reset.
    I tried many things, including adding the variable to the global namespace from the widget. however each time I long press BTN3 all variables are lost.
    Is this expected ?
    Q: Is there any other way to preserve a widget's state between long presses of BTN3,
    apart from writing to storage ?

I am planning to switch this state many times, and would like to avoid writing to flash.

• Hi!

each time I long press BTN3 all variables are lost. Is this expected ?

Yes - because the device is a bit limited we decided that in order to make it as robust as possible we'd just reload everything each time, but that does mean state is lost.

Q: Is there any other way to preserve a widget's state between long presses of BTN3,
    apart from writing to storage ?

No, you'd have to use Storage, but if your value is changing state often and you don't want to write it all the time you can use the kill event to save the state of the value only when the Bangle is about to shut down: http://www.espruino.com/Reference#l_E_ki­ll

var state = require("Storage").readJSON("myapp.json"­,1);
    if (state===undefined) state = { something: true };
    E.on('kill', function() {
      require("Storage").writeJSON("myapp.json­", state);
    });

The only times it won't save state are when it shuts down unexpectedly (battery dies, 2 button reset, or actual firmware crash).

• Thanks for the info. I might do the saving on kill event.

Is there any other way ? Like just writing something to some memory location (I need to store a bool), some function call, anything ?