Push notifications from phone to watch

Posted on
  • Hello everyone, I am just getting started with this. I am curious if someone more experienced with the is can tell me if this is possible.

Simply speaking, I would like to push notifications that come to my phone iOS, to the watch. Additionally, I would want to whitelist the notifications or filter them from an app on my phone. I would of course r this app, however I am curious if the OS exposes a way to connect via Bluetooth etc?

Thanks

• It is! There's an app for Bangle.js by @jeffmer called "Apple Notification Widget": https://banglejs.com/apps/#apple%20notif­ication

Install that and you should be able to get notifications from your iDevice. The notification service is built into the phone so I'm not sure you get to choose which notifications appear like you would with Gadgetbridge on Android (unless there's something in iOS?), but nothing stops you from modifying the Bangle.js app to filter out certain kinds of notifications if you want

• Hi, iOS let’s you control which apps generate notifications in its Settings app. If you want notifications to appear in your phone but do not want the watch to see them, there is a Bangle settings option for the ANCS widget which lets you select the class of notifications you want to receive.

• Hi @jeffmer,

I tried the ANCS widget with multi clock app, with BangleJS cutting edge build espruino_2v06.129_banglejs. BangleJs is installed with default app + multiclock app+ ANCS wedget

Some how I did not get it working as expected. Here are my observations.