Lost storage data on esp8266

Posted on
  • Hey guys, I found an issue that sometimes I will lose all data on the storage. I use websocket to get new code from the server and write it into the storage. At first, I simply erase and write, but then I realized free space becomes less and less so I add compact between erase and write, it works normally most of the time, but it did lost all data sometimes.

I would like to know how to prevent this, I'm a noob, thanks.

• Can you share some infos.

• Board
    • Espruino version
    • code snippet
  • Yeah, the board is esp8266-01s and the version of espruino is 2.04. Usually, the program will get new code from WebSocket server and run

require("Storage").erase("usercode");
    require("Storage").compact();
    require("Storage").write("usercode", newCode);

• Maybe it is related to the duplicate files issue, see http://forum.espruino.com/conversations/­345948/#comment15216864

Can you do a

require("Storage").list("usercode")

to see if there are duplicate files? But, they may they only appear if you are acutally experiencing the "data loss".

You could possibly also update to 2.05 and then see if the issue is gone.

• Yes, a upgrade would be helpful as @Raik suggested.

• Yes, due to some code changes, the issue does not appear frequently. I will try the same actions on 2.05 and post the result. Thanks for your help.

• Yeah, I will try that, thank you.

• @MaBe @Raik I tried to update to 2.05 and run some tests. The result is this issue does not vanish.
    I have code in .boot0 which is

if(fs.getFree()<4096) fs.compact();

and I can see espruino will compact and restart when the free space down below 4096, then I run fs.compact() again in console after it restarted, and after reboot, all data were lost. fs.getFree() shows me 16384 on esp8266-01s, and fs.list() has an empty array as result.

• and I haven't tried this on nodemcu, but I guess I will get the same result.