How to program Espruino pico in a C environment?

Posted on
  • Hi,

I am wondering if anyone has experience changing Espruino's coding environment to Embedded C?
    Like using STM32CubeIDE.
    Should I re flash the MCU again? Thanks

• Realistically to be able to develop properly (with fast reflash, and debug) you'll want to use the SWD pins connected to an STM32Discovery board. Details at http://www.espruino.com/AdvancedDebug

You can just reflash using ST's USB DFU, but you won't get debug and it'll be a bit slower, requiring a manual reset for each upload: http://www.espruino.com/Pico#advanced-re­flashing

• Thank you Gordon,

Sorry, I have no experience to flash a MCU before , to avoid unexpected situation and also can develop properly, would flash it through STM32Discovery board be the easiest and best way to do it?

I am using Espruino Pico which is chip STM32F401CDU6, should I choose the discovery board with the exact same chip? or would any discovery board comes with F3/F4 chip be fine? any recommendation on boards ?

A naive way I am thinking for the first option based what I read from the Advanced Debug is:

• Connect the discovery board to the PICO with ST-Link based on the table provided
    • Modify the file based on the "Gachats"
    • Install st-link tools from git
    • Run the command line provided

But I am not very sure where those files "ESPRUINOBOARD.py or PICO_XX.py"are located, and how to use them. would this process be able to make the PICO code in STM32cubeIDE Embedded C environment?

I need to run the program in very fast speed, and inline C is also not fast enough, Arduino is very close to C, I think Arduino might be faster than inline C?, is it possible to flash PICO as Arduino? the costs might be cheaper for me if this is possible

Thank you