Typescript and BangleJS

Posted on
  • How vibrant is the Typescript + Espruino community? I see a "getting started" and a type definition for Espruino but it is fairly outdated. Attempting to update the repo gets stuck in use of the var global property in Espruino's type definition. I believe it conflicts with Node's own Type definitions.

I am planning to hack together something to get TypeScript and BangleJS working. If more people are interested I will try to be clean enough to be able to push it to DefinitelyTyped repository.

Cheers.

• I'm a recent convert to TS and would love to have pre-built type definitions for Espruino (I found that most of the issues that come with porting legacy apps to TS is the lack of typedefs and therefore wrestling with TS to just get things done).

• @parasquid I am an Espruino noob, so I can't speak for the type definition referred to in this post -> https://www.espruino.com/Typescript+and+­Visual+Studio+Code+IDE

I have a fork of the quickstart here but I still haven't managed to get all bits running without errors. Atleast it has all dependencies upgraded and latest version of Gulp.

I am not going to mess up the Espruino type definition in DefinitelyTyped unless someone files a bug for it. But you probably need to dig into the node_modules\@types\espruino\index.d.ts and comment out line number 3692 that says declare var global: any; The variable 'global' conflicts with another one in node.d.ts I believe.
    I think I'll start a self contained repository for the BangleJS typedef and slowly get familiar with Espruino myself. I'll post updates here.

Cheers.

• Regarding this global: may be some other ways of implementation could help. Node is JS but it is not the birth place of JS. It was the browser, and in the browser there is an implicit 'global'... where all the things 'hang of', similar as in Smalltalk, where #Smalltalk is the global.