Modules - what am I doing wrong

Posted on
Page
of 2
/ 2
Next
  • Hi There

I am afraid I am complete newbee of Espruino, so please forgive me if this is some thing silly. I am hoping to use module but not have much luck

I am on Mac OsX and using the web IDE, I can see the projects so I think i am using the correct program.

on my root folder I've set up a project folder called 'Espruino' and have gone into the setting -> project and set the sandbox as ~/Espruino this created lots of folders including modules, I copied my module in there

now when i run my first line of code ie

const PoweredUP = require("node-poweredup");

it say the module can not be found am I doing something daft ?

Any Help would greatly appreciated

Cheers

James

• Fri 2019.12.06

Hi James, any more detail revealed in
    WebIDE >> Settings >> Console

Is node-poweredup.js in folder \Modules and calling code.js in \?????

Not at development PC, on lunch break, more later this eve

EDIT:
    Calling code.js file would reside in \Projects

• Hi Robin

Thankyou that helped,

It looks the module i am trying to use if the wrong type ie node module and there doesn't appear to have .js or .min.js file. I install the module via NPM, is there simple way around this

Many Thanks

James

• Fri 2019.12.06

I did a quick update of post #1

Hi @user106443, now that the 504 Gatway errors (main web site fine just forum) are over (2 hour wait 9-11pm CST) I'm able to respond.

From the line of calling code in post #1, it appears you are well versed and may have already persued this help page:

http://www.espruino.com/Modules

'is there simple way around this'

James, I don't want to mislead with the unknown, I just don't have enough experience with Node or NPM to provide a suitable response.

'the module i am trying to use if the wrong type'

However, I dare try:

My S.W.A.G. response, would changing the extention of the node file to .js and placing maually in the \Modules folder work?